Youth Enterprise Awards 2017 shortlist

Over 50 nominations for individuals and organisations have been submitted for the Hull Youth Enterprise Awards 2017.

The awards are organised Hull City Council, in partnership with the John Cracknel Youth Enterprise Bank and local businesses, that recognise how enterprising our young people are and recognises those that support enterprising young people. A panel has now shortlisted in each of the categories.

This year’s awards winners will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Kingston Upon Hull, Councillor John Hewitt and Adam Corbally former BBC Apprentice Candidate in Global Entrepreneurship Week at Craven Park in November.

• The shortlisted nominations for The Maxwell Bird most enterprising School in Hull sponsored by Sangwin Group are Griffin Primary, Gillshill Primary, Eastfield Primary, Hull College and St Mary’s College.
• The shortlisted nominations for Kevin McNamara most enterprising Teacher/Tutor in Hull sponsored by Hull City Council is Darren Storrer of Hull College, Vicky McKinnon of St Marys College, Andrea Roberts of Eastfield School, Sue Furniss of Griffin Primary School
• The shortlisted nominations for the business/organisation that has done the most to promote enterprise in a sustainable way sponsored by John Cracknell Youth Enterprise Bank are KCOM, Primary TEC, For Entrepreneurs Only, Hull City Council and Sangwin Group
• The shortlisted nominations for The Sheila Waudby Young Entrepreneur of Year sponsored by Hull City Council are Macauley Dunham property maintenance company , Seragi Kolav for his photography and cleaning businesses, Millie Notarantonio for her online personalised products Millie.Co, Aaron Conroy for his online jewellery business Fenburg
• The shortlisted nominations for Jane Disbrey Most Enterprising student sponsored by RB are Millie Notarantonio of St Mary’s College, Macauley Dunham of Hull Training and Robert Langham of Making Changes for Careers Programme
• The shortlisted nominations for Best Newcomer to Enterprise Education 2017 – Haggai Mwiko Hull City Council, Sarah Procter of Cavendish Primary. Hayley Drummond Appleton Primary and Jo Clark of Woodland Primary School.

On the evening there will also be special awards issued to those that over the years have made a difference in supporting enterprising young people in Hull that will be presented by Councillor William Oxley Chairman Ryedale Council.

Councillor Martin Mancey, Portfolio Holder for Economic Investment, Regeneration and Planning, said: “There is no doubt that Hull has a real commitment, through Hull City Council and the Youth Enterprise Partnership to develop the enterprising skills of young people.

“It never ceases to amaze me how with the right support and encouragement young people are truly enterprising and whilst not all will go on to be entrepreneurs of the future they certainly will be more enterprising in their outlook and in the workplace.

“I know it will be a difficult choice but all nominations are winners and true ambassadors of Hull and Yorkshire.”

Ross Bennett, Hull Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2016, said: “It was a great honour last year to be announced as Hull’s Young Entrepreneur of the Year. I have enjoyed my year acting as ambassador for Hull and its enterprising young people.

“I am pleased that this year over 50 individuals and organisations have received nominations and I look forward to the announcement of the well deserved winners in the 10th Global Entrepreneurship Week so they can get recognition for the enterprising work they do in the city and continue to act as ambassadors for the city.

“I am particularly pleased to see awards named after leading people who have sadly died this year who had championed young people – there is no doubt that Maxwell Bird, Gordon Wilson and Kevin McNamara made a tremendous contribution to supporting young people.”